Health Benefits of Green Beans

May 20, 2010 at 6:59 am 1 comment

I miss my childhood when I used to eat beans. When I was about 5 years old, my mother used to sauté slivered almonds in butter then sprinkle them over the green beans for me to be enticed to eat my veggies. From my childhood I used to eat green vegetables so as beans too. Now I eat beans normally and my mother laughs on me and said don’t you want almonds and butter.

My mother’s trick was quite cool. When I said no to eat green vegetables then my mother always play a trick by putting some of my favorite stuff on those vegetables which forced me to eat. Then it became my habit to eat vegetables on regular basis.

These are green in color and their length varies from 3-6 inches. Green beans are also called as string beans. Green beans are more nutritious than dried beans. Green beans have less protein than dried beans but they have more fiber and other nutrients.

Green beans are fully loaded with vitamins and minerals. Our body gets lots of nutrients like potassium, copper, iron, magnesium etc. About 125gm of beans contain 4gm fiber, 1.6gm iron, 48mg phosphorus, 31mg magnesium, 57mg calcium etc.

The main thing I like in beans in iron because iron is quite necessary for the functioning of our body. For stronger immune system and muscles, iron is required which we can get easily from green beans.

Even doctors recommend green beans when you suffer from health disorders related to inflammations, like arthritis. The presence of vitamin C in green beans has anti inflammatory  effect which leads to prevention of inflammations.

So include beans in your daily diet to keep your body healthy. Not only beans but all vegetables are necessary to keep our body fit and fine. So eat more and more green vegetables for better health.

Entry filed under: Health Stuff.

Cucumber Health Benefits Why fruits and vegetables are the best bet for healthy skin?

1 Comment

  • 1. Smarlipo  |  August 28, 2010 at 12:24 am

    Good One
    thanks for the information..


Categories

Recent Comments

Saku Sutinen on Great Fitness Tips for Healthy…
enerst n on Importance of Garlic
Rauna Hango on Importance of Garlic
majorpaine on Health Benefits of Carrot
Richard Ofori on Importance of Garlic
Ephraim Neil on Importance of Garlic
Mensah dickson on Importance of Garlic
Abosede oyeleye on Importance of Garlic
mwebembezi mathias on Importance of Garlic
David Haas on Deal with stress smartly and…
Muring Nadege on Importance of Garlic
Festus sholanke on Importance of Garlic
christy baby on Importance of Garlic
Jessie on Health Advantages Of Going…
naevah on Health Advantages Of Going…

Top Clicks

  • None

Feeds

May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Top Rated

Blog Stats

  • 94,623 hits

